2020 Upper School Awards and Book Prizes

The Ellis School honored members of the junior and senior classes with awards honoring their outstanding academic achievements, athletic contributions, and service to the community at Closing Exercises on May 29. Please join us in congratulating these students for their commitment to scholarship, service, and sportsmanship.

History Prize
Kay Fleischner
Mathematics Prize
Kay Fleischner
Computer Science Prize
Antonia Meier
Science Prize
Maggie Ginter-Frankovitch
English Prize
Aira Bazaz
World Language Prize
Alex Wood
Victoria Jordan Latin Prize
Phoebe Brown
Performing Arts Prize
Phoebe Brown
Visual Arts Prize
Natalie Graf
Sportsmanship Prize
Annie Trimbur
Highest Academic Average
Lela Krackow
Callomon Underclassman Award
Hannah Anderson-Brownlee
Foster Art Award
Manon Reagans
Stevenson Award
Sami Silk
Head of School Prize
Ricarda Hill
Benjamin R. Fisher Award
Adylade Krimmel
Augustus K. Oliver Cup
Aniya Akhtar

The Head of School Prize is presented to a senior who best exemplifies the school motto Esse Quam Videri, “To be, rather than to seem.”

The Benjamin R. Fisher Award is presented to a senior who, like Mr. Fisher, has given outstanding service to Ellis.

The Augustus K. Oliver Cup is given each year by faculty vote to the senior who represents the highest ideals of scholarship, athletic participation, and citizenship.

Drs. Michelina Fato and Carl Snyderman endowed The Dr. Victoria Bernardis Jordan Latin Award in 2011 to honor Dr. Victoria Jordan, who retired at the close of the 2015-16 school year after 18 years of service at The Ellis School. During her tenure, Dr. Jordan taught scores of students the Latin language as well as the history of Ancient Rome. Through her passion and dedication, Dr. Jordan inspired Ellis graduates to continue to study the classics in college and beyond. Her legacy continues because of the difference she has made in the lives of all of her students.

The Virginia P. Stevenson Award recognizes the excellence of one junior's American History research paper and is named for the former chair of The Ellis School History department.

Department and Athletics prizes honor a senior who has excelled in an area. Recipients are selected by a vote of members of each department.