Students Inducted Into National Cum Laude Society

The Ellis School inducted six outstanding student scholars into the Cum Laude Society on Friday, April 24. Phoebe Brown, Class of 2020; Kay Fleischner, Class of 2020; Ricarda Hill, Class of 2020; Grace Coffelt, Class of 2021; Kiera Harrell-Danks, Class of 2021; and Tegan Poerio, Class of 2021 were recognized for their academic excellence at this year’s virtual assembly.
This honor of great distinction commends students for their impressive scholastic performance, rigorous course of study, and commitment to the highest ideals of scholarship. As Lauren Laschon, Assistant Head of School and Head of Upper School, announced the names, students and teachers cheered from their respective houses, kitchen tables, and new workspaces for each honoree. This year’s inductees join senior scholars Maggie Ginter-Frankovitch, Class of 2020, and Lela Krackow, Class of 2020, who were inducted into the society last year.

“I was pleased to be able to celebrate these scholars as they have demonstrated the utmost integrity and commitment to their learning throughout their years at Ellis,” shared Ms. Laschon. “During this time of remote learning, the students have continued to exhibit tenacity, flexibility, and curiosity about their courses. I am confident they will carry this love of learning with them throughout the remainder of their Ellis education and into the next phase of their lives.”

The Ellis School Chapter of the Cum Laude Society was admitted for membership in 1961. Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is modeled after the college honors society, Phi Beta Kappa, and includes 382 chapters primarily in independent schools.

Congratulations to the 2020 Cum Laude inductees!