New Members Inducted into Ellis Cum Laude Society

Five seniors and two juniors were inducted into the Cum Laude Society during an Upper School Assembly this month. This distinction commends students for their impressive scholastic performance, rigorous course of study, and commitment to the highest ideals of scholarship.
Ellis seniors Dory Johnson, Lauren Jasper, Erica Davis, Hannah Shanley, and Abby Hong as well as juniors Maggie Ginter-Frankovitch and Lela Krackow were introduced into the society by Assistant Head of School and Head of Upper School Lauren Laschon. The 2018 Cum Laude scholars, Yumika Amemiya, Emmy Hsiung, and Emma Schell, presented the new honorees with their Cum Laude pins. As each student was announced, the auditorium erupted into applause and it was obvious to all in attendance that, at Ellis, each student’s unique and individual successes are celebrated. From family members and teachers to classmates and teammates, the network of support runs deep and spans from student’s first day at Ellis through commencement and beyond.

The Ellis School Chapter of the Cum Laude Society was admitted for membership in 1961. Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is modeled after the college honors society, Phi Beta Kappa, and includes 382 chapters primarily in independent schools.

Congratulations to the 2019 Cum Laude inductees!
Erica Davis, Class of 2019
Lauren Jasper, Class of 2019
Dory Johnson, Class of 2019
Abby Hong, Class of 2019
Hannah Shanley, Class of 2019
Maggie Ginter-Frankovitch, Class of 2020
Lela Krackow, Class of 2020